Vernon Hills Park District Commissioners Receive Statewide Recognition for Board Service

February 11, 2020

James Ballowe and Cindy Kessler, commissioners of the award winning, accredited Vernon Hills Park District, received Master Board Member Awards from the Illinois Association of Park Districts (IAPD) at its annual conference held recently at the Hyatt Regency – Chicago.

Ballowe and Kessler received the honor as part of the IAPD Board Member Development Program, which recognizes committee involvement, pursuit of board member educational opportunities, legislative advocacy and achievements at the local, state and national levels in the field of parks, recreation and conservation.

“Master Board Members have gone above and beyond the call of duty as park commissioners,” said Peter Murphy, IAPD’s President and Chief Executive Officer. “These commissioners are highly involved at the local level, and they are outstanding proponents of enhancing the quality of life in Illinois through the services of park districts, forest preserves, conservation, recreation and special recreation agencies.”

Ballowe joined the Vernon Hills Park District board in 2008, and Kessler has been a commissioner with the district since 2009. The park district is one of more than 350-member agencies of IAPD.

IAPD was established in 1928 and is the oldest state association for parks, recreation and conservation in America. The association serves more than 2,100 elected park, recreation and forest preserve district board members who govern more than 350 agencies employing 40,000 individuals.